What is known today as Canvas Church had its humble beginnings in 1915 when James Rasmussen came from North Dakota to conduct revival meetings throughout the Flathead Valley.
In 1926, a Somers building was purchased and re-erected on the corner of 4th Street and 2nd Avenue West in Kalispell (now the Senior Center). The church officially affiliated with the Assemblies of God June 11, 1929. Alfred Scratch became the first pastor on August 15th of the same year.
In 1966 the property on Buffalo Hill was purchased for a new building, and was completed in 1972 (sanctuary seating 250). Bob Ross was elected pastor in 1978, and the new church purchased property on Summit Ridge Drive for a new building in 1984. He continued to lead the church for a total of 21 years, until his retirement.
In October 1998, John Gregg was elected pastor, and the church continued to grow and flourish. In 2002 an expansion was completed and is now the student auditorium and West Lobby. In July of 2012 Kevin and Tiffany Geer came as Lead Pastors to take the church into the next chapter God has for us.
In 2014, through a season of incredible growth, the church rebranded to become known as Canvas Church. This allowed us to reintroduce ourselves to the Flathead Valley with updated facilities and new ministries. In 2016, we continued to grow and thrive, which allowed us to remodel our Kalispell location. We built an expansive 6,000 sq ft lobby to make even more room to welcome the community and foster relationships.
Canvas Church is committed to proclaiming the Good News of Jesus and creating opportunities to experience God in a life-changing way!